Sugar Bowl Live

The Sugar Bowl will feature the Ole Miss Rebels squaring off against the Baylor Bears on January 1, 2022, starting at 8:45 PM ET. Look below for more important details, which includes.

Ole Miss football is set for its biggest game in half a decade.

No. 8 Ole Miss (10-2) faces No. 6 Baylor (11-2) in the 2022 Sugar Bowl Saturday (7:45 p.m., ESPN). The game is the Rebels’ first appearance in the Sugar Bowl since beating Oklahoma State in 2016 and is Ole Miss’ 10th overall appearance in the Sugar Bowl, the fourth-most of any program.

Baylor Bears at Ole Miss Rebels Betting Preview - Sports Betting

The Rebels earned their way into the Sugar Bowl with the first 10-win regular season in school history, including ranked wins over Texas A&M and Arkansas. Quarterback Matt Corral and defensive end Sam Williams led their respective units, with Corral accounting for 31 touchdowns and Williams setting a modern-era school record with 12.5 sacks.

Regular-season contenders from the Big 12 and SEC will put a bow on the New Year’s Day schedule as No. 7 Baylor faces off vs. No. 8 Ole Miss in New Orleans for the Sugar Bowl. The Bears finished first in the Big 12 for the first time since 2014 — and won the Big 12 title game for the first time ever — with a last-second tackle by former walk-on Jairon McVea to cap off a 21-16 win over No. 9 Oklahoma State. The Bears have not won a New Year’s Six or BCS bowl since the format started in 1998.

The Rebels won 10 regular-season games for the first time in program history in coach Lane Kiffin’s second season in Oxford, Mississippi. Ole Miss beat five of its last six opponents by double-digits, including a 31-21 victory over Mississippi State in the Egg Bowl.

Ole Miss quarterback Matt Corral declared for the NFL Draft and offensive coordinator Jeff Lebby took a new role at Oklahoma. However, both key figures are expected to participate in the Sugar Bowl. Baylor does not have any notable opt-outs to this point. The Bears won the only previous battle between these two teams in 1975, a 20-10 decision.

Perhaps the top non-College Football Playoff matchup of bowl season kicks off Saturday as No. 7 Baylor and No. 8 Ole Miss vie for the 2022 Sugar Bowl crown on New Year’s Day. Both teams can complete the winningest seasons in the history of their respective programs as the Bears look for win 12, while the Rebels search for win 11.

The Bears won the Big 12 Championship Game for the first time, ending Oklahoma’s six-year stranglehold on the conference, doing so by avenging their loss to Oklahoma State. Ole Miss won 10 regular season games for the first time in program history. Under coach Lane Kiffin, quarterback Matt Corral earned Heisman Trophy consideration after throwing for 3,339 yards, 20 touchdowns and just four interceptions. He also ran for another 597 yards and 11 scores. Ole Miss won seven of its final eight games, including four straight to end the year by double-figures.

Keep it locked in to CBS Sports for live updates and analysis from the Sugar Bowl matchup from kickoff through the final whistle on Saturday night.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here